2022 Moran Chevrolet Stan Yee 150 Highlights




FLAT ROCK, MI—July 23, 2022:  Make it 4 in a row for Brian Bergakker as he powered his way to victory in the Moran Chevrolet/Stan Yee Memorial 150 presented by DTS Drive Train Specialists Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway for the Moran Chevrolet Outlaw Super Late Models.  Ann Yee, Stan’s widow, and Pat Moran of Moran Chevrolet presented the trophy to Brian in the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle.

Early leaders included rookie Joshua Spindelman, who led the first 5 circuits.  Chris Benson motored into the #1 spot on lap 6 and led until Eric Lee took command on lap 23, going up top to the second lane.  Bergakker used the outside lane to take the lead on a lap 50 restart and built up a straight-away lead.  The show going on for second spot was outstanding, as Lee, Hayden Sprague and Scott Hantz battled for over 10 laps just past the half-way mark.  Scott put on a great show, using the second and third grooves around the entire ¼ mile oval.  Hantz would nose out front in turn 2, then fall back just a bit in turn 4.  A flat tire caused Hantz to spin in the front straight, bringing out the yellow, just the fourth of the night, on lap 98.  He pitted, rejoined the field and began to work his way back up in the final 50 laps.

Bergakker never looked back on his way to the checkered flag.  Lee was second, Hayden Sprague third, Conner Zbozien fourth and Scott Hantz was fifth.  Scott Pemberton made a late charge in the final 5 laps to grab sixth, with Dennis Strickland, Benson, George Rangel and Spindelman completing the top ten. Brian pocketed $3,780 for the win, including the Winners Electric $200 Fast Time bonus (11:745), lap money and the $50 Moran Chevrolet Hard Charger Award.

Misfortune struck for Stan Yee Jr., who was scheduled to start on the pole via the 12-car inversion. Yee pulled pit-side on the parade laps with a mechanical issue, ending his night before the green flag.   Harold Fair Jr., who was 2 for 2 at Flat Rock this season, encountered problems in practice, did not qualify and made a few laps in the 150 and retired for the evening.

Second-generation driver Brice Thomsen took the win in the 20-lap ARCA R & M Recycling Figure 8 feature over Dennis Whisman Jr., Greg Studt, Billy Earley, Eugene Worden, Joe Vanderhoof, Scott Apperson, Travis Earley, Dave Lambert, Regan Ford and Jakob Lee.  Whisman Jr., Studt and Earley applied the pressure to Brice in the final 10 laps as they reeled in the leader. Thomsen held strong out front as the battle behind him went to the wire.  Former Street Stock champion Regan Ford made a start in Dennis Whisman Sr.’s #1 and  kept things exciting at the intersection, as he and Dave Lambert diced in and out and between cars crossing at the X.  The race was stopped just after the initial start when several cars spun and stalled on the track.  Pole sitter Jakob Lee took his car to the pits and did not make the call for the re-start of the feature.

Studt set quick time a 20:907.  Heat race winners were Whisman Jr. and Lee.

Saturday, July 30 Flat Rock Speedway roars back into action with a full race card for the ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stocks, the R & M Recycling ARCA Figure 8’s and The Vault ARCA Factory Stocks. 

There is no advance ticket sale for this event.  All tickets go on sale at the track at 5 p.m. race day.  The pit gates open at 3:30, grandstands and ticket office open at 5, practice begins at 5 and racing gets the green flag at 7 p.m.