Mt. Dew 250 lap Enduro, plus 4 Cylinders, "Faster Pastor Race", Race Car Bowling!

July 02, 2005 - 04:00 AM
Flat Rock Speedway’s weekly classes had a night off and that put the spotlight on the Enduro and 4 Cylinder drivers at “The Rock” Saturday evening.  Mike Bershback grabbed the win and the $1000 first prize in the Mt. Dew 250 lap Enduro race, Ray McClure captured the ARCA 4 Cylinder feature and Pastor Randy Merren was the victor in the “Faster Pastor” contest.  Jeff Maran was tops in the Race Car Bowling contest in front of a nice-sized crowd that enjoyed the action in perfect weather conditions.

40 cars started the Mt. Dew 250, with Jeff Maran charging into the lead.  That, however, was short-lived as a left-front wheel bearing ended his run.  Bershback inherited the lead and had strong competition from Michael Dailey for a better part of the remainder of the contest.  Action was fast and furious as the laps clicked off, the sun set in the west and the lights came on.  With less than 25 laps to go, Bershback tangled with a lapped car, spinning into the infield.  At the same moment, the red flag came out when Marc Ortega’s machine caught fire in turn 4.  Bershback lost some ground and on the ensuing re-start he motored away to the win over Rick Johnson, the only other car on the lead lap.  Robb Remick was third, Bob Hochradel fourth and Rick Bennett fifth, followed by Ortega, Gary Gibson, Tom Sprotberry, John Bridge and David Wallace.  

The ARCA 4 Cylinder class ran a 20 lap feature event and the race went without a yellow flag.  Ray McClure picked up the lead as he zipped by Paul Garcia and took his second win of 2004 in the contest.  Garcia stayed within a few car lengths but had to settle for second spot.  Kevin Stepinski, Jason Steinhurst, Bill Litigot, Tim Wade, Shawn Bershback, Curt Wendt, Michael Giles and Rob Price completed the top ten in the 17-car field.  Charles Sterling and McClure captured the heat race wins.

The 2nd annual “Faster Pastor” race saw Randy Merren of Clinton Valley Assembly of God nip defending champ Pastor Dan Russell of 1st Baptist Church of Lincoln Park for the win.  Third was Pastor Craig Aue of Starr Presbyterian of Royal Oak and fourth was Pastor Ben Martin of Community Baptist of Taylor.  Each minister had parish members in the crowd as they cheered on their favorites.

Jeff Maran showed the way in the Race Car Bowling contest, picking up 2 spares to top Tom Kortier and Paul Wright for the win.  55 gallon barrels served as bowling pins with the cars sliding into them and scattering the barrels in the infield much to the delight of the crowd.

It’s back to weekly racing this Saturday, July 9 at Flat Rock and on tap is the Budweiser Triple 50’s and Fireworks show.  The ARCA Late Models, Figure 8’s and Street Stocks will each compete in 50 lap main events, with extended features for the B and C Main Street Stock features.  The evening will be capped off with the famous Flat Rock Speedway fireworks show!  The front gates open at 3:30, time trials are set for 5 and racing begins at 7 p.m.  Fans are encouraged to arrive early as a large crowd is expected.  Flat Rock Speedway is located on Telegraph Road, 5 minutes from I-75 or I-275.  The track phone number is 734-782-2480.  

  1.  Mike Bershback (Royal Oak, MI)  2.  Rick Johnson (Dryden, MI)  3.  Robb Remick (Royal Oak)  4.  Bob Hochradel (Dundee, MI)  5.  Rick Bennett (Taylor)  6.  Marc Ortega (New Boston, MI)  7.  Gary Gibson (Rochester Hills, MI)  8.  Tom Sprotberry (Smiths Creek, MI)  9.  John Bridge (Milbury, OH)  10.  David Wallace (Dryden, MI)

  1.  Ray McClure (Brownstown, MI)  2.  Paul Garcia (Willis, MI)  3.  Kevin Stepinski (Flat Rock, MI)  4.  Jason Steinhurst (Toledo)  5. Bill Litigot (Taylor)  6.  Tim Wade (Dearborn Heights, MI)  7.  Shawn Bershback (Royal Oak)  8.  Curt Wendt (Auburn Hills, MI)  9.  Michael Giles (Westland, MI)  10.  Rob Price (Westland, MI) 

11-17.  Ron Zophy, Tina Snyder, Kathy Bradley, Rodney Austin, James Shockley, Charles Sterling, Tim Casey.
In an attempt to reduce spam, comments on content older than one year cannot be posted.