Southgate, MI—November 3, 2017:  Race teams, officials, family and friends gathered Friday evening at the Crystal Gardens Banquet Center in Southgate, MI for the annual Flat Rock and Toledo Speedways Awards Banquet.  Each of the champions received their championship jackets and banners from ARCA President and Flat Rock/Toledo owner and promoter Ron Drager.  Over $30,000 in cash and contingency awards were paid out at the annual event.

Prior to dinner, Drager paid tribute to Roy Mott, his partner in the purchase of Toledo Speedway back in 1999. Without Roy, Drager stated, “there would be no Toledo Speedway champions to honor tonight”.  Roy passed away several weeks ago at the age of 79.

Flat Rock’s ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Models were presented their point fund checks and trophies. Justin Schroeder scored 5 wins this season and claimed his second Flat Rock Late Model crown at the ¼ mile paved oval.  Justin and his father, car owner Mike Schroeder, accepted the championship trophies and a check for $1500 from Moran Chevrolet.  Stan Yee Jr., Jimmy Thiel, Frank Jiovani, Paul Pelletier, Steve Cronenwett Jr., Jeff Plumb, Joe Hawes, Derrick Sheppard and Chris Benson completed the top ten in the final point tally.

Second generation driver Billy Earley make it a three-peat in Flat Rock ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 titles, giving him 4 in his career. Billy topped Dennis Whisman Sr. for the championship. Dan Apperson, Dennis Whisman Jr. and Scott Apperson (tied for 4th), Ethen Lambert, Joseph Vanderhoof, Travis Earley, Stephanie Bradley and Jeremy Miller followed.  Rookie of the Year went to Joseph Vanderhoof.  Victory Lane Oil Change representative Ray Ross presented the point fund checks and trophies.

The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock class saw 16 year-old Ray Morneau Jr. notch his first Flat Rock Street Stock title over Greg Studt by just 10 points. The duo finished in the reverse order in 2016.  Third spot went to Jeff Metdepenningen, fourth to Guy Fire, while Grant Hedges and Kyle Worley tied for 5th in the final point tally.  Scott Selmi, Rob Moore Jr., Jeff Luttermoser and David Liaeff completed the top 10.  Liaeff was named the Rookie of the Year for the class. 

Adam Jezylo, another second-generation driver, grabbed his first-ever title in the DTS Drive Train Specialists ARCA Street Stock B Main. This battle also went to the wire as did the A Main, as Adam nosed out Wilburn Parks by just 10 markers. Rich Abel, Alan Kennedy, Chris Diovardi, Justin Rodriguez, Trevor Farmer, Jerry Farmer, Leroy Farmer and Randy Roberts trailed the lead duo in the final point standings. Kennedy captured the B Main Rookie of the Year honor.

The Monroe News Enduro Series championship went to Robb Remick, the 3rd Enduro title for Robb, as he nosed out Derrick Sheppard by just 5 points to grab the title.  Kyle Metdepenningen, Troy Brehmer, Nathan Sprotberry, Matt Ringger, Justin Chamberlin, Jimmy Gullett, David Rumble and Remick’s son, Cody Remick, finished out the top ten.

The ARCA Super 5 Late Model Gold Cup Series title went to Frank Jiovani, topping Harold Fair Jr. by 30 points in the 6 races divided evenly between the 2 tracks. The title was Frank’s first behind the wheel of a Late Model.  Dennis Strickland, Phil Bozell, Scott Pemberton, Tommy O’Leary IV, Andy Bozell, Steve Needles, Jimmy Thiel and Joe Hawes were next in line for the top 10.

The ARCA Aramark Uniform Services Late Model Sportsman division crowned Howard Kelley Jr. as the champ, his second title in the class. Howard’s first championship came in 2003.  Jim Froling was second, Tommy O’Leary IV and Mike Young tied for third, while Ron Allen came home fifth.  Craig Osenbaugh, Ken McCloskey, Greg Stilwell, Gerald Wheaton and Landon Schuster trailed in the final standings.

Froling took 2 wins in the 3-race Silver Cup Series for the Late Model Sportsman, sponsored by R & M Recycling, to take that championship. Kelley was second, just 5 points shy of Froling, with Young, O’Leary IV and Osenbaugh completing the top 5.

Osenbaugh topped the ARCA Factory Stocks with 2 wins in 4 events to claim his first title belt over Paul Martell, Cory McCaughey, James Good, Jacob Thomas and Matt Ringger (tied for 5th), Jesse Carrillo, Mike Miller, Kenny Heebsh Jr. and O’Leary IV.

Kyle Worley, Scott Selmi, Ron Allen and Howard Kelley Jr. won $500 product certificates in a random draw, courtesy of Five Star RaceCar Bodies, while random draw winners for product certificates from AR Bodies were won by Rob Moore Jr., Justin Rodriguez, Jeff Luttermoser, Mike Young, Landon Schuster and Craig Osenbaugh

A bonus program posted by Corrigan Race Fuels at Flat Rock and Bazell Race Fuels at Toledo awarded cash bonuses to the top Sunoco Race fuel purchasers for the season. Schuster, Stilwell and McCloskey (tie) were the Toledo recipients, while Billy Earley, Dan Apperson, Cronenwett Jr., Sheppard, Kennedy and Moore Jr. collected the Flat Rock bonus money. 

Point fund and contingency award sponsors for 2017 included Moran Chevrolet, Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Centers, Aramark Uniform Services, ARCA, AR Bodies, B & H Race Parts, DTS Drive Train Specialists, Five Star RaceCar Bodies, Hoosier Tire, Penske Shocks, R & M Recycling, Bazell Race Fuels, Corrigan Race Fuels and Sunoco Race Fuels.

The winter office for both tracks may be contacted by calling Toledo at 419-727-1100.  The 2018 schedules will be released around the holiday season.  Always check the official websites at www.flatrockspeedway.com, www.toledospeedway.com or www.arcaracing.com.