Flat Rock, MI—May 11, 2019: Carleton, MI driver Jeff Vrsek led every lap on his way to his first-ever win in the 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway. Dennis Whisman, Nick Shanks and LJ Farmer also visited the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle on ArborOakland Group Night. Debbie Majchrzak, representing ArborOakland, presented the trophies to the winners.

The Late Model feature ran straight green flag, allowing Vrsek to take control at the start and build up a sizable lead. Moran Chevy fast qualifier Harold Fair Jr. (11:460), starting 5th, reeled in Jeff in the final 10 laps but to no avail. Vrsek zipped along to the big victory over Fair Jr., Steve Cronenwett Jr., Paul Pelletier, Dennis Strickland, Stan Yee Jr., Frank Jiovani, Chris Benson, Connor Zbozien, Dennis Rederstorf, Craig Everage, Hayden Sprague, Jeff Metdepenningen and Dan Trosen Jr. Heat winners were Strickland and Trosen Jr.

Make it 2 for 2 for Dennis Whisman as he grabbed the win in the 20 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature race. The entire distance was filled with spins, fender-banging and near-misses at the intersection. Ethen Lambert led the first 6 laps until Jacob Lee took the point. That was short-lived, as Whisman motored by on lap 10 and held the field at bay for the “W”. Dennis Whisman Jr. made a late-race charge to take second to his father, Lee held on for third, with James Vanderhoof, John Lambert, Dave Lambert, Ethen Lambert, Stephanie Bradley and Joe Vandehoof next in line at the stripe. Whisman Jr. set fast time at 21:020. John Lambert took the heat race win.

Nick Shanks withstood challenge after challenge on several re-starts as he claimed top honors in the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main. The yellow flag was displayed way too many times due to on-track multi-car incidents. Ethan Stadniczuk made several bids for the lead on the cold night, using the outside lane. Rob Randa also took a shot at the top spot but Shanks stayed strong in the low groove to take the win. Stadniczuk was second, Scott Selmi made a late charge to take third, Greg Studt was fourth and Jim Froling fifth, followed by Randa, Jeff Luttermoser, Lonnie York, Vaughn Chambless and Caleb Barron.

LJ Farmer led all 15 laps to win the DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock B Main, holding back a strong charge from James Pankow and Alan Kennedy on the way to victory. Fourth was Ian Jezylo and fifth was Adam Jezylo, followed by Rich Abel, rookie Douglas Litogot (in his first-ever stock car race), Taylor Papineau, rookie Justin Peterman and Gary Navarre. Studt set quick time at 13:141, while B Main fast time went to Kennedy at 13:802. David Liaeff, Rob Moore, Chambless, Ian Jezylo and Leroy Farmer took the heat wins.

Joel Smith and Killian McMahon raced their Bandolero cars, with Smith taking the win.

The Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club presented a helmet bag to Street Stock driver Jerry Farmer. The Farmer team includes his father, Leroy, and sons, LJ and Trevor. The track also hosted their annual Monroe County 4-H Youth Night and Autograph Night. The hardy crowd braved a cool evening with a chilly breeze, and light rain began to fall at the end of the Street Stock A Main. The elements stayed away just long enough as the show was completed. The TKC Go-Kart Club kicked off the night with an exhibition race.

Saturday, May 18 is Kids Night at Flat Rock Speedway! Kids to age 12 will be admitted FREE and receive a FREE hot dog. The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stocks, the Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8’s and the first The Vault 250 lap Enduro race is on the slate, along with the Bandoleros. The pit gates open at 3:30, practice begins at 5, the front gates open at 5 and race time is 7 p.m.