Flat Rock, MI—May 4, 2019: Flat Rock Speedway kicked off its 2019 racing schedule with an action-packed night of entertainment. Jack’s Bicycle of Monroe sponsored the night, which included Scout Night. All scouts were guests of the track for the first night of racing.

Frank Jiovani captured the 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature over Craig Everage, Dennis Strickland, Jeff Vrsek and Steve Cronenwett Jr. A lap 47 incident between race leader Paul Pelletier and Justin Schroeder brought out the yellow, with both drivers going to the tail of the field. Jiovani, who started 10th, took the point and zipped to the win. Chris Benson, Pelletier, Schroeder, Joe Hawes and rookie Connor Zbozien completed the top 10. Jiovani also set the Moran Chevrolet Fast time at 11:666.

By lap 8 of the ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main, half of the 20 car field had ended their nights due to on-track incidents. Fast qualifier Greg Studt (13:142) was in the lap 4 melee’, which brought out the red flag. Greg pitted, while Clarity Patton, Jeff Metdepenningen and Kyle Worley retired for night with damage to their machines. Studt, restarting 16th, went to the high side and slowly picked off car after car, grabbing the lead with 4 to go on his way to the win. Arnold Kirsch took second, rookie Ethan Stadniczuk, who also came from the tail and followed Studt’s tracks, used the high groove and got all the way to third at the stripe in a great drive. Rob Randa was fourth and Nick Shanks fifth, followed by Rob Moore Jr., Landon Schuster, Trevor Farmer, Vaughn Chambless and Chris Diovardi.

Defending champion Ian Jezylo sped away to the victory in the 15 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists B Main, topping Alan Kennedy, Rich Abel, Adam Jezylo, Gary Navarre, Leroy Farmer and George Burgess.

It was all Billy Earley for 15 laps of the ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature, but the race was 20 laps. Earley’s shut-off switch shut down the engine as the defending champ coasted to off the Figure 8 course. Dennis Whisman inherited the lead and scored the win. Whisman’s night started off on a sour note, as he broke something in qualifying and slammed the wall. The crew worked all the way to the feature to get Dennis back out on the track. Joe Vanderhoof was second, James Vanderhoof third, Dave Lambert fourth and Dennis Whisman Jr. fifth. Earley was next in line; Stephanie Bradley did not make the start. Earley set a new track record in time trials at 20:290.

Saturday, May 11 is ArborOakland Group Autograph Night and Monroe County 4-H Youth Night. The Late Models, Figure 8’s and Street Stocks, along with the Bandoleros, will be in action. Autographs are at 6:15 and show time is 7 p.m.



New comments can no longer be posted.