Flat Rock, MI—September 1, 2018: A heavy thunderstorm drenched Flat Rock Speedway Saturday night prior to the start of the Dani’s Transport School Bus Figure 8 races. A standing-room only crowd waited out the downpour and great work by the track crew and staff had the speedway dried and ready to go for the scheduled 6 p.m. start. Billy Earley captured the School Bus Figure 8 contest and visited the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle.

The ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 class ran a 20 lap contest and Earley, the newly-crowned Figure 8 track champ, led every lap on his way to the victory, including a wild intersection pass on the final lap! Danny Gaddis, in just his second start of the year, took second, Dennis Whisman third, Ethen Lambert was fourth and Dave Lambert fifth, followed Eugene Worden, Dennis Whisman Jr., Stephanie Bradley and Scott Apperson.

A great battle up front the entire distance between Scott Selmi, Greg Studt and Guy Fire kept the crowd excited, as Selmi just edged out Studt for the win. Scott’s #24 car failed post-race inspection, giving Studt the win. Rayce Metdepenningen, driving his father Jeff’s #78, was second, Collin Rae third, Robbie Loving, in Craig Lange’s #76 was fourth and Paul Duffin fifth. Clarity Patton, David Liaeff, Fire, Trevor Farmer and James Baber completed the top 10. Studt and Selmi were the heat winners.

The flag pole race for Figure 8’s saw Whisman Sr. knock his son, Dennis Jr. out of the lead to win that race. Dave Lambert, Ethen Lambert and Eugene Worden trailed the winner. Kevin Stepinski topped Kyle Worley and Bill Carberry in the stock car flag pole event.

Dave Lambert out-ran Whisman Sr. in the Boat Figure 8 contest. Stepinski, Whisman Jr. and Worley also captained boats for the race.

The grand finale’ was worth the wait as a total of 4 school buses went over on their sides, including two in strange spots on the track. Terry Smith started it by rolling his bus just 3 laps in. AJ Padgett got over in turn 2 of the oval coming off the Figure 8 track with a loud thud. Whisman and Jack Franzil decided to crash at the intersection and continued up to the backstretch wall, where Whisman slammed into Jack again and tipped him over in the back straight! And the final wild crash saw Eugene Worden plow into Kyle Worley at the stripe, dropping him over in a big thud and slide along the front straight! Through it all, only 1 bus was running and that was Billy Earley, zooming to the win.

Bus sponsors were Dani’s Transport, Hop Culture, Jim’s Butcher Shop, Servall Septic Service, Budget Tire, Central Avenue Truck Shop and Lakeshore Utility Trailer Sales.

The final race of the season is next Saturday, September 8 at Flat Rock Speedway. The Monroe News Enduro championship is on the line in the 250 lap contest, with a great battle up top for the title between Rick Bennett, Robb Remick and Derrick Sheppard, along with Kyle Metdepenningen.

It will also be Whelen First Responders Night, with all police, EMS, fire and rescue personnel admitted free with proper ID. Fans that attended the bus race can bring their ticket stubs to the September 8 event and will receive admission for just $5. The Bandoleros are also slated for action.

The pit area opens at 3:30, practice is at 5 and race time is 6 p.m.