Flat Rock, MI—July 7, 2018: Flat Rock Speedway’s annual Triple 50’s and Monroe Superstore Fireworks show entertained the fans Saturday night with great racing and the Volcano Fireworks grand finale’ to cap off the evening. Justin Schroeder, Billy Earley, Craig Lange and Anthony Camilli took the features wins and visited the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle.

The ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model race went 75 laps as one of the legs for the ARCA Gold Cup Series, which was rained out June 23. Joe Hawes led the first lap, giving way to Jeff Vrsek, looking for that initial win, on lap 2. Vrsek ran strong out front and held the point. On lap 38, Frank Jiovani had the read end lock up, giving the field no place to go. Paul Pelletier and Jimmy Thiel sustained the most damage, but both were able to continue. Vrsek got away from the field on the restart, but Schroeder reeled in the leader and got by Jeff with 19 laps to go to win his first event of the season at the track. Vrsek’s great run gave him second spot, Thiel held on for third, Stan Yee Jr. was fourth and Craig Everage fifth, followed by Pelletier, Joe Hawes, Chris Benson, Jeff Plumb, Terry Bogusz, Rob Randa, Jiovani and Derrick Sheppard. Schroeder set the Moran Chevrolet fast time at 11:866. There have been no repeat winners in the 5 events in 2018.

Defending track champ Billy Earley survived a battle with Dan Apperson and Dennis Whisman Jr. to grab his second win of 2018 in the 50 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature. Travis Earley, fresh off his first-ever win last week, led the initial 12 circuits. Apperson zipped by on lap 13 and held the lead until Billy took the top spot on lap 31. Earley and Apperson were dicing back and forth for the top spot as Whisman Jr. closed in on the lead duo. Dan and Dennis Jr. tangled, sending Apperson into a spin. Earley continued out front on the way to the checkered flag, with Whisman Jr. second, Travis Earley third, Dennis Whisman Sr., fourth and Eugene Worden fifth. Joseph Vanderhoof, Apperson, David Katafiasz, Art Vince and Jeremy Miller were next in the finishing order. Miller set the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts quick time at 21:043, but encountered mechanical woes and went to the pits, ending his night.

Hard-charging Craig Lange hit paydirt with a big win in the 50 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main race, leading all but 1 lap. Craig pushed the #76 into the lead and only lost it on lap 35 to Greg Studt. Craig came right back and took command of the number 1 spot, then held back Ray Morneau Jr. for the victory, the second of his career at Flat Rock. Morneau Jr. grabbed second, Scott Selmi returned to action and notched third spot, Greg Studt was fourth and David Liaeff fifth. Grant Hedges, Steve Searles, Clarity Patton, Rob Moore Jr. and Jeff Luttermoser completed the top ten. Craig became the sixth winner in 6 events so far this season for the A Main feature races.

Former B Main champ Anthony Camilli zipped to his third win in 2018, holding off James Pankow for the “W” in the 25 lap DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock B Main feature. James Baber, Wilburn Parks, Ian Jezylo, Jerry Farmer, Gary Calhoun, Rich Abel, L.J. Farmer and Chris Diovardi trailed the winner in that order.

Rob Randa posted the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts Fast Time for the 33 car field at 13:677, but retired from the A Main early with mechanical issues. Baber led the B cars with a lap of 14:027.

Saturday, July 14 is R & M Recycling Autograph Night at Flat Rock Speedway! Fans can walk onto the track and meet the drivers at 6:15 p.m. The ARCA Aramark Late Model Sportsman will make their second appearance of the year, and will be joined by the Street Stocks, Figure 8’s and Bandoleros. A Kids Power Wheels Derby is also planned. The night will pay tribute to the late Wayne Pelkey.

The pit gates open at 2:30, practice begins at 4, the front gates and ticket office open at 4, time trials are at 5:15, the on-track autograph session is at 6:15 and racing begins at 7 p.m.