Flat Rock, MI—May 5, 2018: Rob Randa pulled even with Jeff Metdepenningen on the final lap and went 3 wide coming out of turn 4 to edge Jeff by inches in the outstanding ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main feature Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway. Craig Everage, Billy Earley and Jerry Farmer also took feature wins on Jack’s Bicycle of Monroe Scout Night.

The all-green flag A Main saw Metdepenningen take the lead at the start from the number 1 spot. The class has tremendous and close competition as usual, and Saturday’s 25 lap event was no exception. Jeff built up a fair lead as the pack continued to battle back and forth for position. Rob Randa, the night’s Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast qualifier (13:497), worked his way up to Jeff and caught the leader with 2 to go. Rob went to the outside lane and on the final lap, pulled even with Jeff M. Entering turn 3, the lapped car of Wilburn Parks got as low as possible to give the lead duo plenty of room. Jeff chose the 2nd lane and Randa just put his car in the third groove as the pair brought the crowd to their feet. Rob was the victor by a scant margin over Jeff, with Guy Fire third, Ray Morneau Jr. fourth and Scott Selmi fifth, followed by Grant Hedges, David Liaeff, Greg Studt, Craig Lange and Steve Searles.

Jerry Farmer inherited the lead with 2 laps to go and held off Troy Brehmer for the win in the 15 lap DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock B Main. Race leader Trevor Farmer, Jerry’s son, had the top spot, but tangled with James Pankow on lap 13 as they went 3 wide. The yellow appeared and both drivers went to the rear, giving Jerry the lead as he held on for the win over Brehmer. Trevor came back to take third, Pankow was fourth and Ian Jezylo fifth, followed by Rich Abel, Anthony Camilli, L.J. Farmer and Vaughn Chambless.

Brehmer set the B Main Fastime Racing Engines and Parts quick time at 14:214. Heat race winners were Hedges, Liaeff, Regan Ford and Jezylo. Alan Kennedy got crossed up in his heat race and slammed the front straight wall in a nasty hit.   Alan walked to the ambulance under his own power.

Angola, IN driver Craig Everage grabbed the lead from Frank Jiovani on lap 11, using the 2nd groove and steered his way to victory in the 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature race. Frank took the lead at the green in the non-stop event, but Everage worked his way by to take control of the race and stayed out front with a 15 car length margin most of the way. Jiovani took second, Jimmy Thiel third, Paul Pelletier fourth and Stan Yee Jr. fifth, followed by Corey Duane, Scott Pemberton, Tadek Stadniczuk, Jeff Vrsek, Chris Benson, Dennis Rederstorf, Derrick Sheppard, Joe Hawes and Jack Varney Jr. Thiel was the Moran Chevrolet Fast qualifier at 11:818, with heat wins to Yee Jr. and Stadniczuk.

Defending track champ Billy Earley zipped by Dan Apperson on his way to win number 1 of 2018 in the ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 20 lap feature race. Earley paced himself and took control of the event on the way to the win over Apperson, Eugene Worden, Jeremy Miller, Greg Studt, Joseph Vanderhoof, Travis Earley, Dennis Whisman and Dennis Whisman Jr. Jeremy Vanderhoof scratched from the event. Miller set the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast time at 20:947. Travis Earley and Apperson grabbed heat race wins.

Saturday, May 12, the fan-favorite Autograph Night takes place at Flat Rock Speedway. Fans can walk onto the track and meet the drivers! The speedway will also host its annual Monroe County 4-H Youth Night. The pit gate opens at 2, practice begins at 3:30, the front gates open at 3:30, qualifying is at 5, the on-track autograph session is at 6:15 and racing begins at 7 p.m. The ARCA Late Models, Figure 8’s, Street Stocks are in action, while the Bandolero class makes its Flat Rock debut.