Flat Rock, MI—September 2, 2017: Flat Rock Speedway rocked a sold-out house with some stock car racing and a bunch of action-packed events, capped off with the Dani’s Transport School Bus Figure 8 race Saturday night. Kyle Worley picked up the win in the bus event.

Worley was the only bus left running as a pair of rollovers and some hard hits thrilled the huge crowd. AJ Padgett put his bus on its side in the first 2 laps, and then Jack Franzil got tagged by Chris Benson at the intersection and went over with a large thud. Both drivers emerged from their buses to the cheers of the fans. Billy Earley got up on 2 wheels several times but did not go over. Dennis Whisman was out front but Terry Smith and Kyle Worley got crossed up in front of Dennis---so, he just flat slammed into Smith, knocking both out and leaving Worley as the last man standing. Bus sponsors were Dani’s Transport, Lakeshore Utility Trailer, Budget Tire, Central Avenue Truck Parts, Hop Culture, LLC, Woodhaven Moose and Michigan Mobile Legal Services.

The 25 lap DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock 25 lap feature saw a first-time winner as Craig Lange scored the big win. Pete Shrake was the early leader, then Greg Studt moved to the number 1 spot after running door to door with Pete for several laps. Guy Fire got to second as the laps wound down, and with 22 in the books, leader Studt and second place Fire tangled in turn 4, bringing out the yellow flag. Both went to the rear on the restart, putting Lange in front. Craig had moved from 8th to third prior to the yellow, and Lange stood on the throttle on the green and held on for his victory. Mike Young, at the wheel of the #86, finished second, Rob Moore was third, Brian Norton came out of retirement to grab fourth in Randy Cornett’s #8, while Worley was fifth, followed by Shrake, Dan Monaghan (in champ Ray Morneau’s #03), Rich Abel, Terry Bogusz (in Wilbur Parks #56) and David Liaeff.

Jeff Metdepenningen took the 15 lap B Main in a great battle with Jim Froling, who took second. Scott Selmi was third in the #137, Trevor Farmer was fourth and Anthony Camilli fifth, followed by Ian Jezylo, Gary Navarre (in Jeff Luttermoser’s #30), Leroy Farmer, Jerry Farmer and John Smolinski. The show was run in a progressive format, with no qualifying. Heat race finishes determined the starting lineups for the 30 car field. Lange, Fire, Young and Studt won the heats.

With 1 lap to go, an intersection crash involving leader Jeremy Vanderhoof and Parker Wade allowed Billy Earley to sail by to grab the top spot and the win in the 20 lap Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature. Vanderhoof recovered to take second, Dennis Whisman was third, Scott Apperson fourth and Ethen Lambert fifth. Joseph Vanderhoof, John Lambert, James Vanderhoof, Travis Earley and Randy Roberts completed the top ten. Eugene Worden and Billy Earley took the heat wins.

A pair of flag pole races saw Bill Carberry and Jeremy Vanderhoof take the wins. Dave Lambert edged out Joseph Vanderhoof and Ethen Lambert to win the wild Boat Figure 8 race.

The final race of the season at Flat Rock takes place next Saturday, September 9. Fans that attended the bus race can bring their ticket stub to the ticket office next Saturday and get in for just $2 next week! The Monroe News 250 lap Enduro championship and the Bandolero cars will be in action.

The pits open at 3:30, practice begins at 4:30, the front gates open at 4:30 and racing begins at a special time of 6 p.m.