Flat Rock, MI—July 8, 2017: Justin Schroeder, Jeremy Vanderhoof, Jeff Metdepenningen, Rich Abel and the Monroe Superstore Fireworks were the winners Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway on Triple 50’s and Fireworks Night. The features-only format was completed just as nightfall descended on the track, a perfect backdrop for the famous Flat Rock Speedway Fireworks on a beautiful summer evening.   The track fireworks event has been a mainstay on the schedule for 37 consecutive years.

Stan Yee Jr. jumped into the lead at the start of the 50 lap ARCA Moran Late Model feature. Yee built a slight lead, but Jimmy Thiel was on the charge and got by Stan on lap 13 to take the point.   Schroeder, starting in the 8th slot, worked his way to the front just before the half-way mark. A lap 24 yellow erased Thiel’s lead, setting up Schroeder’s pass for the number 1 spot after the re-start. Justin took the lead on lap 29 and sailed out front until a lap 38 red stopped the action when Terry Bogusz had an axle snap, sending him backwards into the turn 3 wall. Terry was ok but his car sustained heavy damage. Moran Chevy fast qualifier Craig Everage (11:556) now entered the battle for the lead. Craig got under Thiel for second with 7 laps to go and looked to the high side of Justin, but to no avail. Schroeder grabbed the win, his 4th in 5 events this year at “The Rock”, with Everage second and Thiel third. Fourth was Stan Yee Jr. and fifth was Frankie Jiovani, followed by Jeff Vrsek, Paul Pelletier, Joe Hawes, Jeff Plumb and Tom Cronenwett.

The 50 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature went to Jeremy Vanderhoof, with a dominating performance not seen in recent memory. Travis Earley led the first lap, with Dennis Whisman nosing into the lead on lap 2. His lead, however, was for 5 laps as Vanderhoof steamed by on lap 8 and then set off to build a half-lap lead as the race wore on. Early challenger Jeremy Miller was running second when he went to the pits, ending his night. Jeremy continued the fast pace, as he zipped in and out of intersection traffic on his way to the convincing victory over Dan Apperson, Dennis Whisman, Scott Apperson, Ethen Lambert, Travis Earley, Dave Lambert, Parker Wade, Billy Earley and Randy Roberts. Billy Earley was running third until he had a tire go down in the closing laps, dropping him back to 9th at the finish. Billy set the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts quick time at 20:939.

Make it 3 wins on the season for Jeff Metdepenningen, in his first full season of ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock action. Jeff took the lead from Scott Selmi on lap 26 and held back the charge of Greg Studt to take the 50 lap main. Selmi motored away out front at the start as Jeff began to gain ground on the leader. On lap 26, Metdepenningen took over the lead and withstood several challenges, including Studt’s for the final 5 laps. Greg looked to the high side and dipped low coming out of turn 4, but had to settle for second spot as Jeff grabbed the win. Kyle Worley was third, Dan Ford Jr. fourth and youngster Rob Moore Jr. recorded a great run with fifth spot, just edging out his father, Rob Moore Sr. Craig Lange, David Liaeff, Selmi and Clarity Patton rounded out the top ten.

Rich Abel survived the crash-filled 25 lap Street Stock B Main contest, holding off the late charge of Chris Diovardi for the win. Adam Jezylo, Trevor Farmer, Leroy Farmer, Randy Roberts, Jerry Farmer, Wilburn Parks, Alan Kennedy and Justin Rodriguez trailed the winner. Studt topped the 31 car field in the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts qualifying with a lap of 13:648. Parks led the B field at 14.162.

Next Saturday, July 15 is Autograph Night, sponsored by R & M Recycling and UAW Local 3000. The ARCA Aramark Late Model Sportsman will visit Flat Rock for the second time this season. The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stocks will also compete in a full race card. A Kids Power Wheels Demo is also planned.

Fans can walk onto the track and meet the drivers at 6:15, with racing set to start at 7 p.m. The pit gates will open at 3 p.m., practice begins at 4:30, with time trials set for 5:45, followed by the autograph session at 6:15. The front gates and ticket office will also open at 4:30. All tickets will go on sale at the track on race day at 4:30.